Loading Posts...

Marcel Dettmann’s remix of DJ Hell proves there’s plenty of mileage left in electro

Electro-clash was a pretty big deal back in 2006. Justice had just begun, Daft Punk were actually touring, Tiga was producing bangers 24/7 and DJ Hell’s Gigolo Records was largely at the centre of this aggressive form of punk-inspired dance music.

Now that we’re in 2017, electro and electro-clash are hard to come by — not impossible, Ed Banger’s forthcoming Ed Rec 100 proves there’s still plenty of mileage left in the world thrashy electro, as does Dr Lektroluv’s forthcoming electro compilation (see below for the mother of all electro-clash tracklists across a staggering 4 CDs of electro goodness from the Belgian electro don).

So 2017 has certainly seen an electro uptick especially with the return of DJ Hell, back on his beloved Gigolo Records with a new record and with it a pretty damn good remix from one Marcell Dettmann, who doesn’t really figure in electro-clash’s narrative to my knowledge, but he was certainly around and probably playing techno to confused electro fans.

Anyway, his remix of ‘I Want You’ has almost every electro-clash element you could ever want — authoritarian vocals? Check. Bleeps by the barrel load? Check. A  solid 128 bpm? Check. It’s all there — a love letter to the likes of Boys Noize, Vitalic and Gigglo’s own imperious back catalogue.

And the video is brilliantly provocative too.

Elektrik World

That video, though. And now we come to Dr Lektroluv’s compilation which quite frankly is probably the most comprehensive electro and electro-clash compilation you could ever need, he’s even managed to source obscure gems like Williams’ ‘Poltergeist’. And look how many Stuart Price remixes he’s managed to snag too. Just incredible.

“Dr. Lektroluv presents Elektrik World, a boxset cd compilation with each and every essential electro classic you need to own. Boys Noize, Tiga, Miss Kittin,… You’ll find all the golden boys and girls of electro present on this ultimate collection. Elektrik World is compiled by the green masked Dr Lektroluv, since more than 15 years at the forefront of the electro movement from Belgium to Brazil!”

CD1: < 2002
1. Miss Kittin & The Hacker – Frank Sinatra
2. Crème De Menthe – We’re Living In The Night
3. Alden Tyrell – Love Explosion (Vox)
4. Dakar & Grinser – I Wanna Be Your Dog
5. Telex – Moskow Diskow
6. New Order – Blue Monday
7. Vitalic – La Rock 01
8. ADULT. – Nausea (Mega-Blend)
9. David Carretta – Vicious Game
10. Bolz Bolz – Take A Walk (Dima Neo-Romantic Remix)
11. Anthony Rother – Redlight District
12. Tiga & Zyntherius – Sunglasses At Night (Original 12″ Version)
13. I-F – Space Invaders Are Smoking Grass
14. Zombie Nation – Kernkraft 400 (Dj Gius Remix (Radio Cut))

CD2: > 2002 < 2005
1. Black Strobe – Italian Fireflies
2. Bangkok Impact – Junge Dame Mit Freundliche Telefonstimme
3. Dot Allison – Substance (Felix Da Housecat Remix)
4. Tiga – Louder Than A Bomb
5. Alter Ego – Rocker
6. A Number Of Names – Shari Vari (The Hacker & Vitalic Remix)
7. Artist Unknown – Errorist
8. Solvent – My Radio
9. Mysterymen – Electromode
10. T.Raumschmiere – Monstertruckdriver
11. Zoot Woman – Grey Day (Paper Faces Mix)
12. Unit 4 – Body Dub (Extended Mix)
13. Scissor Sisters – Comfortably Numb (Paper Faces Mix)

CD3: > 2005
1. Digitalism – Zdarlight
2. Freeform Five – No More Conversations (Mylo Remix (Radio Edit))
3. Ida Engberg – Disco Volante (Sébastien Léger Remix)
4. Booka Shade – Mandarine Girl (2016 Remaster)
5. Boys Noize – Yeah
6. Fake Blood – Mars (Radio Edit)
7. Tomas Andersson – Washing Up (Tiga Remix)
8. Proxy – Dance In Dark
9. Alex Gopher – Aurora
10. Etienne de Crécy – Binary
11. MGMT – Kids (Soulwax Mix)
12. Juliet – Avalon (Jacques Lu Cont Versus Remix)
13. Röyksopp – What Else Is There? (Trentemøller Remix)
14. Feist – My Moon My Man (Boys Noize Classic Mix)

CD4: Lektroluv Classics
1. Mr. Magnetik – You’ve Been Magnetized (Green Edit)
2. Sound Of Stereo – Zipper
3. Mumbai Science – Gold
4. The Subs – Mitsubitchi (Extended Mix)
5. Boris Dlugosch – Cycle
6. Mumbai Science – Lotus
7. The Subs – Kiss My Trance
8. Modek – Willow
9. VNNR – What!?
10. Party Harders vs The Subs – The Pope Of Dope
11. Dr. Lektroluv vs Break 3000 – Discothèque (Extended Mix)
12. Mr. Magnetik – Remanence (Junior Remix)
13. Williams – Poltergeist

Out Mid May 2017 on CD and digitally through Lektroluv / N.E.W.S.

Andrew Rafter

Andrew Rafter is the editor and founder of Harder Blogger Faster.