Loading Posts...

Watch Hot Chip’s ‘Dark And Stormy’ and Listen To Joe Goddard’s ‘She Burns’

This time last year Hot Chip released ‘In Our Heads’ their highly acclaimed, and most consistent, album to date; an album in fact that was so acclaimed it received album of the year accolades from a variety of sources ranging from The Sun to DJ Mag.

Following up from such acclaim was always going to be daunting task – so Hot Chip have decided to release a one off single that, similarly to ‘In Our Heads’, was recorded by Marc Ralph at Club Ralph studio in London. The single will also come with a b-side consisting of a new version of ‘Look At Where We Are’ taken from their 2012 album.

With all this playing on my mind I approached ‘Dark & Stormy’ with some trepidation worrying that it was merely a stop gap or outtake from the ‘In Our Heads’ Sessions. Thankfully I was wrong.

As the title suggests the song starts off moodier and darker than your average Hot Chip track but builds to a crescendo that bursts into a typically bright and catchy Hot Chip style chorus. It’s this contrast that makes the track so interesting and bodes well for their next album – as it shows they still have so many layers of songwriting to reveal to.

One of the keys to Hot Chip’s songwriting is of course Joe Goddard who is about to release a new solo single ‘She Burns’.

It’s a lush deep house track with haunted vocals provided by Mara Carlysle, and now has an equally haunting and suitably slow burning video too. Anyone who is familiar with Goddard’s previous work, either as part of the 2 Bears or solo, will know that his output is always quality and this video matches the track’s tone perfectly.

Hot Chip Dark & Stormy will be released on 1o-inch and digitally via Domino on July 22nd.

Joe Goddard ‘She Burns ‘ is taken from the ‘Taking Over’ EP out through Greco Roman later this Summer.

“Dark and Stormy” single:

01 Dark & Stormy
02 Jelly Babies
03 Doctor
04 Flutes [LP Version]
05 Flutes [Sasha Remix]
06 How Do You Do [Todd Terje Remix]
07 Look at Where We Are [Major Lazer Remix]
08 Night and Day [Daphni remix] [digital only]


is a blogger and DJ from Dublin, Ireland. Originally a co-founder & DJ at NoDisko he often edits music for dancers, performers and burlesque artists. He also previously edited performance music for Sedition Industries, (Dublins premier avant-garde performance & Dance Troupe). More recently he can be found surrounded by beautiful models when guest DJing at Dr. Sketchys Dublin Anti-Art School and special events.