Loading Posts...

New producer duo Mighty Mouse are about to release their second compilation this September, and if follows hot on the heels of their last Disco Circus compilation which that advertising mag Mixmag placed in their top 10 of 2009.

We’re pleased to announce that their latest offering is every bit as good as the last. The duo have been on fine form recently, after owning Hype Machine and getting the thumbs up from Aeroplane, Rob Da Bank, amongst others. They are about to drop their next 2 CD foray into the world of Nu-Disco.

The first CD comprises of more well known tracks and covers everything from Bot’Ox, The Gorrilaz, SMD, to more obscure tracks from Juslo and Jaques Renault.

Notable highs come in the form of the serene Mario Basanov’s “Do You Remember”  summer time disco classic, with nice synths hooks and tastey disco beats – very much from the Aeroplane nu-disco school of thought.

The have even managed to get their remix of The Gorrilaz remix of “Superfast Jellyfish” on the compilation and is certainly a rarity as the Damon can be a bit funny when it comes to licensing his tracks apparently.

The opening CD is moody and serene in equal measure, with the odd splash of folksy country via Bokoor Band’s “Onukpa Shawarpo”.

Next up, we love the Chic-esque Charanga 76’s “Music Trance” which is more than a bit nostalgic towards 80’s funk.

The first CD more than deviates to traditional idea of nu-disco and keeps the listener interested from start to finish, but fails to keep a coherent flow throughout sometimes.

The duo brings things back down to earth with one of our favourite tracks in the shape of SMD’s “Cruel intentions”. Synth laden disco with a fine female vocal. What more could you ask for?

The middle of the CD might go a bit astray but the duo bring it back to disco roots with the fab The KDMS’ Never Stop Believing”. Moving guitars and clever beats make it a fine choice to finish the CD.

The second CD sees’s them stretch their disco legs, and is Mighty Mouse at their best. The opening track is statement of intent, and it comes in the form of the trashy pop Jinder “Youth Blood” – it reminded us of a talented Kylie, trust me when you hear the vocal I will be vindicated.

The New York inspired disco funk that is DJ Mujava’s “Township Funk” – was next to rear it’s lovely head. Cosmic beats all they way.

Next up we love the duo’s own Command V’s “Lost On Me” stripped back, with a sexy vocal and some tasty synths. It’s a great track to serve up in the middle of the mix and following on comes another Mighty Mouse remix of Luke Million’s “Italo Disco Journey”.

Topping that comes one the duo’s own productions “Jungle Fish” possibly our favourite track across the whole the compilation, truly amazing.

The last third of CD2 catapults this compilation into another level and cements the duo and ones to watch on the next few months. We for one can’t wait for their artist album, which is rumoured to be ready early 2011.

We were pleasantly pleased after listening to Disco Circus 2, there’s more than enough to keep you coming back for more, the second CD certainly steals the show, and if your into your organic disco then you need this CD in your life. Period.

HBF Rating 8/10

Mighty Mouse Disco Circus Volume 2 September 6th on History Records.

Grab yourself the amazing “The Beast” and one of their Mixtapes just to convince you some more. Won’t take long.

[podcast]http://www.mediafire.com/file/arudvedoztantnx/Fairtilizer 133784 – Mighty Mouse – The Beast.mp3[/podcast]

Download here for free.

AUGUST 2010 MIXTAPE: Lost In Space by MIGHTY MOUSE by Mighty Mouse

1. Naomi ‘Note We Never Play’
2. Quasifunk ‘Dancing In The Jungle’
3. Douze ‘Les Paradis Artificiels’
4. Clock Opera ‘A Piece Of String’ (Magnets Remix)
5. Blamma Blamma ‘Beyong 17′ (Mighty Mouse’s Lost in Space Remix)
6. Jaga Jazzist ‘Banabfluer Overalt’ (Prins Thomas Diskmiks)
7. Bell X1 ‘Flame’ (Chicken Lips Version)
8. 4Tech & Nano Tech ‘I I I’ (Original Mix)
9. 40 Thieves feat, Qzen ‘Don’t Turn It Off’ (Original Version)
10. Stefano E Bene & Hard Ton ‘Why Your Love’ (Katzbatz Remix)
11. Bassheads ‘Is The Anybody Out There)
12. Kitkalitto feat. Petteri Sariola ‘Traveler’
13. Health ‘Nice Girls’ (Little Loud Remix)
14. Severed Heads ‘Dead Eyes Opened’</em></address>

Andrew Rafter

Andrew Rafter is the editor and founder of Harder Blogger Faster.