Loading Posts...

Villa in their current incarnation have existed since late 2010, when Thang Tran Tung drafted Francois De Meyer in to help him out with a remix he was working on for Digitalism.

Thang was previously joined in Villa by Frédéric De Smet and Sebastiaan Vandevoorde (Moonlight Matters), who’s since departed for other climes leaving Thang to fly solo. That was until friend and musician De Meyer, who’d been working on and off with The Glimmers and Vive La Fête, darkened his doorway.

Since their pairing the duo has remixed the likes of Das Pop, Beni, Adele, Yeasayer and Ladyhawke, but it’s with ‘Mint’ that they bestow on the world their first original track together as the new Villa. It features the vocals of De Meyer himself, and additional production and the mix was handled by go-to-guy on the rise Nick Hook.

Check out the a mash-up of the entire release below that straddles both house and disco, and features remixes from HBF’s favourites Punks Jump Up, Softwar, and No Regular Play.

We’ll have more streams a little closer to the release which is February 11.

12” tracklist
A1 Mint
A2 Mint (Instrumental)
B1 Mint (Softwar Remix)
B2 Mint (No Regular Play Remix)

Digital tracklist
1. Mint
2. Mint (Instrumental)
3. Mint (Punks Jump Up Remix)
4. Mint (Punks Jump Up Dub)
5. Mint (Softwar Remix)
6. Mint (No Regular Play Remix)


Club Mod is a new endeavor by the Modular Recordings family. A series of digital and 12″ single releases aimed at some kind of dancefloor, Club Mod acts as one foot under the strobe and one in the future, an avenue for one-off releases with acts we’ve recently fallen in love with or those whom we’ve long time admired. It is an eclectic, roughly monthly series in the name of dance.

Andrew Rafter

Andrew Rafter is the editor and founder of Harder Blogger Faster.