Loading Posts...

French producer Surkin is about to release his debut full-length on November 7, and from the early reactions it’s sounding like it could be one of the albums of the year. Here’s some of the PR blurb.

“Hi. We at Marble are proud to announce that we’ll be releasing the debut full length by Surkin, called USA on November 7th. Originally designed to be out on Institubes, we immediately thought of Marble as the perfect platform to release it after the demise of our former label. It’ll feature 16 tracks, with guest vocals by Detroit’s Ann Saunderson and Chicago’s Kevin Irving (the voice of house blueprint « Move Your Body » by Marshall Jefferson), and two collaborations with longtime friend and labelmate Bobmo, whom with Surkin works as High Powered Boys.

“It’s a joyous, juvenile, body-moving record, based on the idea of a radio station called Fireworks FM, set up in Silver Springs. The whole vibe exhales a fantasized eighties soundscape, infused with dance subgenres from that era but dramatically edited by Surkin’s own imaginary memories. Club tracks galore, but also expect more melodic, emotional mid-tempo cuts, but definitely not in a filler way. Mastery all over the place, yet infused with a tremendous feeling of exuberance and freedom. Needless to say it’s an instant classic.”

Surkin – USA (Album Teaser) by Marble Music

1. Intro
2. Lose Yourself (ft. Ann Saunderson)
3. Love Shot
4. I.N.Y.N
5. Fireworks Hotmix
6. Silver Island
7. White Knight Two
8. Rock It
9. Harry (ft. Bobmo)
10. Never Let Go (ft. Kevin Irving)
11. Fan Out
12. Gold Island
13. Ultra Light
14. Quattro (ft. Bobmo)
15. Silver Springs Anthem
16. End Morning

And while you’re here you might want to check out the first single from the album ‘Ultralight’ – it’s a trio of tracks that fall somewhere between house, electro and disco, but with a Parisian twist.

(MRBL009) Surkin – Ultra Light by Marble Music

Andrew Rafter

Andrew Rafter is the editor and founder of Harder Blogger Faster.