Loading Posts...

Rüfüs’ sophomore album ‘Bloom’ is as heartbreaking as it is danceable, which is a strangely enticing mix that might have you simultaneously crying and dancing in the club.

It’s that sweet spot between bittersweet heartache and optimistic euphoria that makes ‘Bloom’ equally ready for the dancefloor or any solo listening session. Simple, yet powerfully moving, lyrics sung by the group’s Tyrone Lindvquist makes it fantastically relatable, so whether you’re reminiscing over a jilted love or are just looking for a danceable escape, ‘Bloom’ has got you covered.

Warm synths and heavy basslines remain the backbone for many of the songs, for a track list that unfolds as a cohesive story. Energy peaks in tracks ‘Be Like You’ and ‘Like An Animal’, while emotional valleys percolate in ‘Lose My Mind’ and the epic nine-minute conclusion, ‘Innerbloom’. ‘Hypnotised’ and ‘Tell Me’ run together seamlessly with wind-swept vocals, jazzy piano notes, and guitar licks to deliver a polished finish.

Rüfüs has definitely cemented their place in a rich history of Australian dance music with ‘Bloom’, joining predecessors The Presets, Cut Copy, and Empire Of The Sun with a unique sound of their own. You can grab the entire album out on Odesza’s Foreign Family Collective here.

Available on iTunes at foreignf.am/bloom-itunes

“Say A Prayer For Me” by RÜFÜS DU SOL (@rufussounds) is the sixth release from Foreign Family Collective, an outlet for musicians and visual artists alike curated by the duo behind ODESZA.

SoundCloud: @rufussounds

Shea Kopp

is an audiophile and electronic music activist who calls both Los Angeles and San Diego home. She is the contributor to multiple music blogs. Find her on the dance floor when she is not writing about or listening to music. Feel free to contact Shea at shea.kopp@gmail.com