Loading Posts...

Tiga has electro-awakening with new single, ‘Woke’

Woke

“A state of perceived intellectual superiority one gains by reading The Huffington Post.”


The ever prolific Tiga is back with a new track, ‘Woke’, and it sounds like the Canadian producer has had something of an electro-awakening.

‘Woke’ sees the Canadian producer combine a thrumming 2004 electro-clash palette alongside a incredibly self-indulgent sax solo. The resulting concoction sounds like an excellent, if a little incongruous, electro-clash remix of ‘The Man With The Red Face’ from a parallel universe; one where Tiga is really good friends with Garnier who asked him for a remix and it’s taken him 22 years to complete because, well, it’s hard remixing a classic.

Anyway, it’s really good, and Tiga seems to think so too. Speaking about the track, a typically verbose Tiga said: “Woke is a song about freedom, specifically my freedom. About me, at the end of the earth, pushed towards a final act of emancipation: throwing my phone into the sea, and watching it sink.

“People may have a hard time empathizing with a successful DJ, or anyone who associates an annoying buzzword with anything approaching enlightenment. But I don’t think it’s that hard to relate to feeling like you’ve entered into a lopsided bargain with a magic box that is more or less designed to hack its way into your self-image. Call it an empty gesture, but as I hurled my phone into the water, it was very much an instance of facing up to something I knew wasn’t good for me, and finding some sense of release, if only for a moment.

“If you need to get ahold of me, send a letter to 111 The Seashore C/O A Free Man.”

FORTHCOMING TIGA DJ DATES

Friday, 4 August Hi, Ibiza, Spain (BBC Radio 1)
Saturday, 5 August V Club, Vilamoura, Algarve, Portugal
Monday, 7 August Lokerse Feesten, Lokeren, Belgium
Saturday, 12 August Delirium Festival, Santander, Spain
Sunday, 13 August Brunch in the Park, Barcelona
Friday, 25 August Zurich Openair, Zurich, Switzerland
Saturday, 26 August Mantra Beach Club, Odessa, Ukraine
Sunday, 27 August Electric Brixton (SW4 After Party), London, UK
Wednesday, 30 August Hyte, Amnesia, Ibiza, Spain

Friday, 1 September Smolna 38, Warsaw Poland
Friday, 15 September Rich’s, Houston, TX, USA
Saturday, 16 September Heart, Miami, FL ,USA
Saturday, 23 September Paradise, Avant Gardner, New York, USA