Loading Posts...

Mark Moore’s S’Express were the first dance act to see commercial success in the UK charts during the acid house explosion of the late 80s.

Fast forward to 2015, and Moore is starting his own label, ‘Needleboss’, and has raided the S’Express’ vaults – namely for the stems for ‘The Theme’ & ‘Hey Music Lover’ – for the label’s first release, ‘S’Excursions’ EP.

Moore has handpicked Punks Jump Up, The Supermen Lovers, Vanilla Ace and I-Robots for the remixes package set to drop October 9th on vinyl, and the 16th digitally.

You can check out the Punks Jump Up remix above, who’ve been busy bees this year creating their own little musical nirvana, Muzik Box records, which we’ve featured extensively.

Anyway, PJU take S’Express’ famously flamboyant ‘Hey Music Lover’ – which featured an early outing for Billie Ray Martin on vocals alongside Eric Robinson – down the rabbit hole, and into PJU’s psychedelic world of gleaming retro-fied house.

The ‘Excursions’ EP will be followed in early 2016 by an album of new S’Express remixes album called ‘Enjoy This Trip’.

Artists contributing to the LP include Tom Furse (The Horrors), Horse Meat Disco, Monarchy, Jagz Kooner, Throbbing Gristle’s Chris and Cosey, Reuben Wu (Ladytron) as well as Mark himself alongside his production partner Roland Faber.

Pre-order the vinyl here – and head over to Moore’s website here for more information about the launch party.

Track list is as follows:
1) Funky Killer – I-Robots Reconstruction
2) Hey Music Lover – Punks Jump Up Excursion
3) Theme From S’Express – Vanilla Ace Excursion
4) Theme From S’Express – The Supermen Lovers Excursion

Andrew Rafter

Andrew Rafter is the editor and founder of Harder Blogger Faster.